Overview

The Riedji (pronounced 'read-ee') is a private mountain retreat in the Valais region of southern Switzer­land. It consists of six ancient huts scattered across a saddle at an altitude of 1,800 meters (5,900 feet) above sea level. A traditional summer farm (alp) where villagers from the valley below have harvested grain, grazed cattle and collected wood for centuries, the Riedji is typical for the mountainous regions of Switzer­­land and Austria. However, this particular alp is unusually well preserved - thanks to the fact that it is dramatic­ally situated above a 200 meter vertical cliff and can only be reached by foot, after a hike of almost two hours. The way the six huts are scattered across a meadow on top of the cliff, surrounded by some of the highest peaks of the Alps makes for an inspiring ensemble between historic man-made structures and spectacular mountain scenery.
The Riedji is situated 600 meters above the village of St. Niklaus in the Swiss Valais (Wallis) region. It lies at the center of the Matter valley - with approxi­mately 30 km (20 miles) to Zermatt and the Matter­horn in the southern direction and 20 km to the Rhône valley further north. With more than two dozen 4,000 m tall mountains in the vicinity, this is the highest section of the Alps. Given the imposing peaks on both sides, the Matter valley forms the deepest valley in Europe. Not surprisingly, St. Niklaus was home to important pioneers of mountaineering - and now houses the Swiss mountain guide museum (Bergführer Museum). Many well known skiing resorts are nearby, such as Zermatt, Saas Fee, Riederalp and Crans Montana. The Aletsch glacier - Europe's largest and listed as a UNESCO world biosphere - is visible in the distance.

Satellite view of the Riedji

The objective of the Riedji project is to preserve the integrity of this unique place and to use it for three complementary activities: as a private mountain retreat, as a site for management seminars (e.g. teambuilding, coaching) and for selected non-profit activities. Currently, only two of the huts are inhabitable and a third is partly usable. This permits to house 5-7 guests. Current plans call for a careful renovation of some of the other buildings in order to extend the capacity to 10-15 people. Besides living quarters and sanitary facilities, a small library is to be added. The infrastructure reflects the specific nature of the place (e.g. solar electricity, fixed wireless telephone) and modern elements are to be carefully inserted into the historic fabric to preserve the authenticity of the Riedji.

Übersicht

Das Riedji (ausgesprochen "Rier-di") ist eine private Alp im deutsch­sprachigen Teil des Schweizer Kantons Wallis. Sie umfasst sechs histori­sche Holz­gebäude auf einem Berg­sattel in 1.800 m Höhe und wird seit über 500 Jahren von den Bewohnern des Dorfes St. Niklaus während der Sommer­monate für den Getreide­anbau und zur Vieh­weidung genutzt. Obwohl die Alp in vieler­lei Hinsicht typisch für die Hoch­alpen ist, weist sie doch einige Besonder­heiten auf. So liegt sie über einer 200 m hohen Steil­klippe und ist nur nach knapp zwei­stündi­gem Fuss­marsch erreichbar. Auch wurde sie in den letzten Jahr­zehnten nicht verbaut, sondern befindet sich in einem ungewöhn­lich guten Erhal­tungs­zustand. Dieses Ensemble aus alpiner Berg­kulisse, histo­ri­scher Archi­tek­tur und durch jahr­hunderte alte Bewirt­schaftungs­formen gepräg­ter Kultur­land­schaft gilt es auch für zukünf­tige Genera­tionen zu bewahren.
Die Riedji-Alp befindet sich 600 Meter über dem Dorf St. Niklaus im Ober­wallis, unweit der italie­nischen Grenze. Der Ort liegt in der Mitte des Mattertals - etwa auf halbem Wege zwischen dem Rhônetal im Norden und dem Ort Zermatt mit dem Matter­horn im Süden (jeweils 30 km entfernt). Mit zwei Dutzend Vier­tausendern in unmittel­barer Umgebung findet sich das Riedji nicht nur im höchsten Teil der Alpen, sondern gleich­zeitig im tiefsten Tal Europas. Es ist somit nicht ver­wunder­lich, dass St. Niklaus Geburts­ort wichtiger Pioniere des Alpinis­mus war, an die das hier beheima­tete Berg­führer­museum erinnert. Viele welt­bekannte Ski­orte finden sich in der Umgebung, wie etwa Zermatt, Saas Fee, Rieder­alp und Crans Montana. Vom Riedji aus sieht man in der Ferne den Aletsch­gletscher - mit 24 km Länge das grösste Eisfeld Zentral­europas und seit 2001 von der UNESCO als Welt­natur­erbe anerkannt.

Satelliten-Ansicht des Riedji

Ziel des Riedji Projektes ist es, diesen einzig­artigen Ort in seiner Ursprüng­lich­keit zu bewahren und in die neue Zeit zu über­führen. Er soll Menschen aus aller Welt Gelegen­heit zu ausser­gewöhn­lichen Erfah­rungen und Begegnungen geben. Ob Management­seminare, Yoga­kurse oder Rück­zugs­ort zur Reflexion - die ursprüng­liche, boden­ständige Umgebung hoch in den Alpen und inmitten der Natur ermög­licht eine beson­dere Konzen­tra­tion, inspiriert zu neuen Ideen und fördert die Sozial­dynamiken in kleinen Gruppen. In den ersten Jahren des Projektes standen eine umfassende Bestands­aufnahme und denkmal­pflege­rische Massnahmen im Vordergrund. Zurzeit sind zwei der sechs Hütten ausgebaut, eine dritte kann als Sommer­quartier genutzt werden. Die Infra­struktur entspricht den ört­lichen Gegeben­heiten (Solar­strom, Holz­öfen, wasser­kraft­betriebene Seilbahn). Neben Unter­künften für 5-10 Personen gibt es eine Bibliothek zu alpinen Themen.